About Reading

I’ve got a hometask on my english courses. We should have read one book by June. You can choose any book you want, but you must start and finish, must track your progress, filling a boring “phrases vocabulary”. Why do I have to do this?

You know, I don’t like to read at all. Yes, everyone knows, that is quite useful to read books. Especially, classical literature. But for me it’s rather difiicult to make sit and start. After I usually continue without any problems, but THESE FIRST MINUTES. Such a real nightmare.

That’s why I decided yesterday to start my blog. I will write, but what am I going to wrire about? Me, who has a inconspicuous life (what a strange word “inconspicuous”). I’m going to write about what I’ve read. Quite simple. This blog, I suppose, helps me with this “reading motivation”.

So, who is “the victim”? The victim is Remarque. Do you know this guy? erich-maria-remarque-1898-1970-german-everettI’ve chosen Remarque’s book, because I’ve read three of his works before. All of them were pretty sincere and profound dramas with the sad end.

I’m not that kind of people who likes crying, curling up on the bed. No. One of the main subject of this book is love. Speaking more exactly, love, war and different types of alcohol. Like a calling card, the detailed description of alcohol exists in every Remarque’s book. But there is not why I’ve chosen Remarque. I’m not alcoholic.

So I’ve chosen the “Three Comrades” novell. I’ve been reading it for 2 weeks, I assume. What this book about.

First of all let me introduce the main character. His name is Robert Lohkamp. From the very beginning we know about him, that he’s a First World War’s solider, he’s going to celebrate his thirties birthday with friends – Otto and Gottfired. Robert looks exhausted, sick of his life,  demoralized. He looks back on the past, an awful memories flashes back…

Now that’s all I’ve read. I’m going to add new facts after reading.

Hi, guys! You could help me with my english. If you noticed any mistake, please, leave the comment and you’ll make your karma better 🙂

Leave a Reply

